Not another Christmas Sweater

Advent 3 – Isaiah 61:1–4, 8–11

“Oh no, not another Christmas sweater”.
I never said those words out loud, but that’s what went through my mind. If you know me or more accurately my wardrobe choices you can probably tell that I don’t wear Christmas sweaters. Now don’t get offended; it’s not that I don’t like them. Some are really pretty and festive, but they just don’t work for me. You see, I like to have a sweater that I can wear from December all the way through November. Yes, I am sometimes so cold I’ll pull out a light sweater in the summer months. I like to think of myself as a very practical gal looking for nice utilitarian gifts. I want to get a lot of good use out my wardrobe.
I think that is what God is aiming at in these words from Isaiah 61.1-4, 8-11. These are words that are to be used over and over again. In verse 10, God’s “garment of salvation” that we are given isn’t some pretty and delicate thing to be pulled out only for special occasions. God is fitting us for life—a life of good news to the oppressed, a life of binding up the brokenhearted, repairing ruined cities, doing God’s justice, a life of righteousness and praise for all others to see.

Prayer:
O Lord God, send your Spirit upon me. Help me to put on your faith, to put on your strength, to put on your joy. Help me to wear it everywhere I go. Help me to share it with all your children.

Suggested Action:
Using masking tape, a label, or even fabric marker write on your coat (perhaps the inside) these words “garment of salvation” and/or “robe of righteousness”. Every time you put on your coat pray that you may remember to show, share, an work for God’s gift of mercy for all. At the end of the week see how this may have impacted your life and your faith.

One thought on “Not another Christmas Sweater

Leave a Reply

