Lent 2

Jesus speaking to Nicodemus says, “The wind blows where it chooses, and you hear the sound of it, but you do not know where it comes from or where it goes. So it is with everyone who is born of the Spirit” (John 3:8).

Perhaps it is odd that I chose this verse out of a pericope (assigned reading) filled with more common verses (John 3:16 for example). Perhaps it is because I don’t know exactly how those words actually fit together. How is the wind  like everyone born of the Spirit? Does my choice of this one verse reflect the state of my spirit or a statement of the Spirit? Or more likely something in the middle.

I have always been a weather junky watching the weather channel. Perhaps this is my attempt to try and claim some sense over that which I am powerless. If I can’t change the weather, at least I can be prepared. Being born of the Spirit isn’t about being prepared though. Being born of the Spirit is not knowing where we are headed, not knowing what’s coming next, but just being.

Another quirky thing about me is that I actually like to run in the wind. It’s great when it’s to my back giving me that little extra boost. But, I also like to run into the wind. I feel the rush of the wind and imagine I am fast. I feel the force of the wind on my skin and I know I am alive. Is that what the Spirit does for us? Is that how we as children of the Spirit to be in the world?

Leave a Reply

