Ash Wednesday

Joel 2:15-16

Blow the trumpet in Zion;
sanctify a fast;
call a solemn assembly;
gather the people.
Sanctify the congregation;
assemble the aged;
gather the children,
even infants at the breast.
Let the bridegroom leave his room,
and the bride her canopy.

This is one of the most meaningful pieces of ministry.  Throughout the years I still am humbled to mark my brothers and sisters with the cross of ashes.  I place ashes on the skin of a 90′ something year old woman who struggles to worship with the community as often as possible.  I place ashes on a man whose creases and wrinkles tell of his life of struggle. I declare,  “Remember you are dust and to dust you shall return” to old and young, to rich and poor, to strangers and my own children.  There is nothing more powerful than this to drive me to faith in a passionately loving God.

Leave a Reply

