June 6

Psalm (ELW) (Semi-continuous) Psalm 146
1Hal- | lelujah!

ELCA Youth Gathering 2006 - San Antonio
Praise the LORD, | O my soul!
2I will praise the LORD as long | as I live;
I will sing praises to my God while I | have my being.
3Put not your | trust in rulers,
in mortals in whom there | is no help.
4When they breathe their last, they re- | turn to earth,
and in that day | their thoughts perish.   
5Happy are they who have the God of Jacob | for their help,
whose hope is in the | LORD their God;
6who made heaven and earth, the seas, and all that | is in them;
who keeps promis- | es forever;
7who gives justice to those who are oppressed, and food to | those who hunger.
The LORD sets the | captive free.
8The LORD opens the eyes of the blind; the LORD lifts up those who | are bowed down;
the LORD | loves the righteous.
9The LORD cares | for the stranger;
the LORD sustains the orphan and widow, but frustrates the way | of the wicked.
10The LORD shall | reign forever,
your God, O Zion, throughout all generations. | Hallelujah!
Why does Christian contemporary music seem to just focus on praise, praise, praise?  For so long this just turned me off.  It seemed so empty and fluffy.   I am trying to listen to more Christ. Contemp. music.  I’ve been told there is good stuff out there.  I want to hear it; I want to be able to share it.  Oh yeah, and I do often need to be reminded to praise God.
As I reflect on praising God, my question is why?  Should we simply praise God because the Divine One is magnificent and awesome?  Within scripture we are continually reminded that not only is God above all earth, sky, and powers, but that this is the God who doesn’t side with the powers that be.  God exchanges the the winner, the glorious, the beautiful, the successful for the grieving, the poor, the struggling, the oppressed.  May our praise move us to lives of discipleship.

Leave a Reply

